How To Edit Or Delete Twitter Tweets 2022 – With FAQs

In this blog post, we are going to explain how you can edit or delete Twitter tweets and post an edited or revised version of the existing tweet. In order to do so, you have to delete it and post an edited version because Twitter does not allow you to “edit” tweets.
 
But deleting, editing, and reposting a tweet is easy. Simply copy the tweet you’d like to edit, create a new tweet, and paste the original text into the new tweet. Then edit as needed, and post. To delete the original tweet, tap on the arrow icon located on the top right-hand side of the tweet and select delete. You’ll be asked to confirm, and thereafter your tweet will have been deleted. 
 

So we have compiled this content in a step-by-step guide. You can easily follow this guide on PC. It will also work on iOS, Android, and Mac systems.

Ways to Edit or Delete Twitter Tweets

How to Delete Twitter Tweets

Usually, users want to delete tweets because they don’t want them on their feeds anymore. If you don’t want it on your feed, follow these steps to delete your tweet:

  • Open the Twitter website and log in to your account.
  • If you have multiple profiles, select the profile for which you want to revise tweets.
  • Navigate to the tweet you want to remove and tap on the drop-arrow icon located on the right side of the tweet.
  • Select the “Delete” option.
  • A popup window will open. Select “Delete” again.
  • Done.
See also  How To Make A Twitter Account Private (2022) - Step by Step Guide

Posting an Edited/Revised Version of the Tweet

Knowing how to edit or delete Twitter tweets comes in handy if you want to post a revised version of a tweet. When it comes to posting a revised version of the tweet, you can simply copy and paste the old tweet with the necessary changes. Follow these steps:

  • Open the Twitter website and log in to your account.
How to edit or delete Twitter tweets
  • In the selected profile, navigate to the tweet you want to delete and revise.
  • Copy all the content of the tweet and paste it into a new tweet.
  • After pasting the content, make the necessary changes and corrections.
  • After the content is ready, click the “Tweet” button to post the edited tweet.
  • Done.

Conclusion

While Twitter does offer the option to edit tweets you’ve posted, there is a workaround. As detailed above, all you need to do is create a new tweet with the edited text and delete the old tweet. Using our step-by-step guide, you’ll be able to edit or delete Twitter tweets with ease.

FAQs

Why Doesn’t Twitter Allow You to Edit Your Tweets?

If Twitter provided the editing option on the platform, it would affect the user experience, like when users retweet.
 
It would reflect the changes in the context, and there would be no technical issues, but it would create problems with the retweeting feature.
 
One example is when website owners embed tweets on their websites. If the users change or edit the tweets, it will affect the embedded tweet in the content. It could easily change the context and meaning of the tweets and also can jeopardize the intent of the website.

See also  How To Get Unbanned From TikTok 

Another thing is Twitter values. Twitter is all about sharing thoughts in limited words. The platform doesn’t want somebody to change their thoughts and words later.

It also compromises the integrity of the written word. Tweets are linked together with complex and long threads of conversation among leaders and celebrities.
 
And if one person changes the context of the tweet, it can change the whole meaning of the conversation.

How Do I Edit an Existing Tweet?

The simple way to do that is to delete the original tweet, copy and paste the text into a new tweet, make the necessary changes, and press the tweet button.

Does Deactivating Twitter Delete Tweets?

If your account is deactivated for longer than 30 days, all your data and accounts will be deleted. You can always log back in within the period of 30 days, and you can use the platform easily.
 
However, Twitter cannot do anything about the content and screenshots that were indexed by the search engines and archived by websites.

You can always choose to go private instead of deactivating your account. When you make your account private, only your followers can access your tweets.

Leave a Comment